## Minutes

## Annual Congregational Meeting: May 19, 2024 First Unitarian Church of Pittsburgh

**Board Members Attending:** Raeann Olander, (President), Kyle Gracey, (Treasurer), Brian Junker (Vice President), Nick Izzo (Secretary), Rob Schwartz (Past-President), Amy DeChicchis, Bob Mitchell, Chris Milcarek, Jean Schmidt, Rev Dr Kate Walker (minister, ex-officio)

## **Absent Board Members: None**

- 1. Call to Order and Welcome Raeann Olander-Murray, Board President (5:05)
- 2. Opening Words & Chalice Lighting: #473 in grey hymnal; "Love is the Spirit of this Church", James Villa Blake
- 3. Opening Hymn: #311 in grey; "Let it be a Dance"; hymnal
- 4. Approval of 2023 Annual Meeting Minutes. Nick Izzo, Board Secretary. Approved by voice vote. Minutes stand as submitted.
- 5. President's Report: Raeann Olander-Murray, Board President (See Annual Report).
- 6. Minister's Report Rev. Dr. Kate R. Walker (See Annual Report).
- 7. Minor Change to Bylaws (Kyle Gracey)
  - Because errors were discovered in the Bylaws amendment which has been posted, and since the change was being made to clarify but not change text, and was not viewed as time-sensitive, the vote on the Bylaw change was tabled until the board of trustees approves new wording. A vote will be taken on adoption of this change to the Bylaws at the 2025 Congregational Meeting.
- 8. Nominating Committee Report (Sue Oerkvitz and Cathy Rohrer, co-chairs)
  - a. Nominees to the Board of Trustees for 2024-2027 are:
    - i. Jim Pashek
    - ii. Maria Lauro
    - iii. Richard Dum
  - b. Nominees to the Nominating Committee for 2024-2027 are:
    - i. Bill Schuetz
    - ii. Becky Studer
    - iii. Mary Weidner
- 9. Procedures for Voting (Raeann Olander, Board President; Nick Izzo, Board Secretary and Election Manager)

- 10. Voting on nominees for Board of Trustees and for Nominating Committee:
  - a. There were 65 online ballots, and 18 paper ballots cast, establishing a quorum.
  - b. All nominees for Board of Trustees received a majority of affirmative votes, and are elected
  - c. All nominees for Nominating Committee received a majority of affirmative votes, and are elected
- 11. Financial Report: Kyle Gracey (See Annual Report)
- 12. Closing Hymn: # 121 Gray Hymnal; "We'll Build a Land"
- 13. Benediction: Rev. Dr. Kate Walker
- 14. Adjournment: Raeann Olander

Respectfully submitted,

Nick Izzo, Secretary

Approved by the Congregation, May 18, 2025